PENSION ALIMENTAIRE POUR ENFANTS

Les deux parents sont responsables de la garde, de surveillance et d’éducation de l’enfant, ainsi que soutenir financièrement l’enfant.

Si il ya une rupture dans la relation des parents, ces responsabilités ne changent pas.

Si les parents ne peuvent s’entendre sur la garde et le soutien de leurs enfants et entamer des procédures judiciaires, ils sont tenus d’assister à une séance d’information de médiation familiale. Couples avec enfants ont droit à six séances de médiation gratuites avec un médiateur familial accrédité.

Les deux parents sont tenus de contribuer aux besoins financiers de l’enfant, en proportion de leurs moyens.

Le montant de la pension alimentaire à payer est calculé sur la base d’une formule qui prend en compte le nombre de jours par année chaque parent va passer avec l’enfant, le nombre d’enfants et le revenu de chaque parent.

Pensions alimentaires pour enfants sont administrés par le ministère du Revenu du Québec, qui recueille et distribue les paiements une fois qu’elle a reçu un jugement de la cour.

Si un couple est d’accord pour gérer la collection et le paiement entre eux, ils doivent l’indiquer explicitement dans un accord ratifié par la cour et demander une exemption. Le parent qui paie la pension doit alors fournir une caution à Revenu Québec pour garantir les paiements.

CHILD SUPPORT

Both parents are responsible for the custody, supervision and education of the child, as well as financially supporting that child.

If there is a breakdown in the relationship of the parents, those responsibilities do not change.

If the parents cannot agree on the custody and support of their children and institute court proceedings, then they are required to attend a family mediation information session.  Couples with children are entitled to six free mediation sessions with a licensed family mediator.

Both parents are required to contribute to the financial needs of the child, in proportion to their means.

The amount of child support payable is calculated based on a formula that takes into account the number of days per year each parent will spend with the child, the number of children and the income of each parent.

Child support payments are administered through the Quebec Ministry of Revenue, which collects and distributes the payments once it has received a court judgment.

If a couple agrees to handle the collection and payment between themselves, they must explicitly state that in an agreement ratified by the court and request an exemption.  The parent paying the support must then provide a surety to Revenue Quebec to guarantee the payments.

The above is intended to provide general information and is not to be taken as legal advice for a particular situation.  If you require a legal opinion, please contact an attorney.